Thursday, August 17, 2017

Celebrate! Mommies and Daddies by Sophia Day


Title: Celebrate! Mommies and Daddies
Author: Sophia Day
Published: June 15, 2017
Publisher: MVP Kids Media
Pages: 32
Review: book provided by author
Genre: Children ages 3 on up
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


Join our MVP Kids® and their families as mommies and daddies offer loving support throughout the day. Whether heading to daycare, falling off a bike, adding a new sibling or settling into bed, our MVP Kids® help teach that we can remain secure in our parents love. Single moms, dads and two parent families alike will enjoy the sweet expressions of I love you in each of the MVP Kids® heritage languages.

Celebrate! Thanksgiving by Sophia Day


Title: Celebrate! Thanksgiving
Author: Sophia Day
Published: Aug. 1, 2017
Publisher: MVP Kids Media
Pages: 28
Review: book received by author
Genre: Children ages 3 on up
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 

Join our MVP Kids® in Celebrate! Thanksgiving as they role play significant characters and events from the historic first Thanksgiving. Then bridge history into a lesson on thankfulness as our MVP Kids® express gratitude for friends, food, family and more as they enjoy the typical sights and experiences of a traditional American Thanksgiving celebration.

Tuesday, August 8, 2017

Celebrate! Going to the Dentist by Sophia Day


Title: Celebrate! Going to the Dentist
Author: Sophia Day
Published: June 15, 2017
Publisher: MVP Kids Media
Pages: 28
Genre: Children ages 3 on up
Buy Link: Amazon


Join our MVP Kids® in Celebrate! Going to the Dentist as they go through the routine of a dentist visit. From start to finish, we will learn about what goes on during a dentist visit in hopes of calming nerves and relieving fears of going to get our teeth cleaned!

Celebrate! Mealtime by Sophia Day


Title: Celebrate! Mealtime
Author: Sophia Day
Published: December 15, 2016
Publisher: MVP Kids Media
Pages: 22
Genre: Children ages 3 on up
Review: book provided by publisher

Join our MVP Kids® in Celebrate! MealTime. We will learn about good mealtime manners, being helpful, eating healthy and other simple lessons for toddlers. Follow the families of several of our MVP Kids® as they go through their day interacting with food and family.

Monday, August 7, 2017

Review: Sleepover Zoo by Brenda Kearns

26178351

Title: Sleepover Zoo
Author: Brenda Kearns
Published: Jan. 27, 2015
Publisher: Self
Genre: Children ages 5 on up
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Link: Amazon



Toni only wants one thing: To get through 6th grade at her new school without everyone finding out that her family is crazy — and there’s a zoo in their basement. When the most popular girl in school insists that Toni have a sleepover, it looks like Toni’s dream of being normal is about to be smashed.
Toni tries to get her new friend, Meghan, to help — but Meghan’s first visit to Toni’s home ends badly, thanks to a surprise encounter with frozen mice. Then a missing snake and bossy parrot only make things worse. If Toni can’t get out of this sleepover, the whole school will find out her family is not normal.
This wacky tale is packed with fun, feathers and friendship — and a sleepover that no one will ever forget.

Sunday, August 6, 2017

Celebrate! Going to the Doctor by Sophia Day


Title: Celebrate! Going to the Doctor
Author: Sophia Day
Published: June 15, 2017
Publisher: MVP Kids Media
Pages: 30
Genre: Children ages 2 on up
Review: book received by publisher
Buy Link: Amazon

Join our MVP Kids® in Celebrate! Going to the Doctor. Beginning with role-playing, we learn that doctors track our growth, help us feel better when were sick and manage long-term special needs. From the waiting room, well-checks, to the sick visits and specialists, our MVP Kids® help set up realistic expectations and ease anxiety about visiting the doctors office.

Celebrate! Flying Colors by Sophia Day


Title: Celebrate! Flying Colors
Author: Sophia Day
Published: Dec. 15, 2016
Pages: 24
Publisher: MVP Kids Media 
Genre: Children ages 2 on up
Review: book provided by publisher
Buy Links: Amazon



Join our MVP Kids® in Celebrate! Flying Colors during playtime in the beautiful outdoors of Patel Daycare. Their imaginations soar as they learn about colors from the birds and butterflies flying and fluttering around them.

NetGalley Review: It's Hard to Swim (Ellie the Wienerdog series) Life's Little Lessons by Ellie the Wienerdog - Lesson #2 by K.J. Hales

34146789

Title: It's Hard to Swim (Life's Little Lessons #2)
Author: K.J. Hales
Published: June 6, 2017
Publisher: Greenleaf Book Group/ Open Door Press, Inc. 
Pages: 17
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and Publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 





Ellie the Wienerdog is back!
In Life’s Little Lesson #2, It’s Hard to Swim, readers are reunited with their favorite wiener dog as she is about to abruptly get her paws wet.
Romping on dry ground and chasing a ball are the activities Ellie believes dogs are built to do. However, one day as she is enjoying her canine fun, she chases her ball onto a dock and then finds herself cornered by her “people” who think it would be a good idea for her to take a little dip.
The drama builds as her mind goes into over drive imagining all the terrifying possibilities that could await her below the surface of the water.
Will she sink? Will she end up as dinner for a hungry shark or a monster fish? Or will she overcome her fear and discover all the fun that comes with trying something new? Her future hangs at the end of a dock with very dark water below . . .
Swim is a year-round Summer Fun read! Kids will love searching for all the hidden treasures in the vibrant, whimsical illustrations and grown-ups will love the timeless lesson that is shared through Ellie’s humorous tale.
The team of K.J. Hales and Serene Wyatt have done it again – thanks to the inspiration from Ellie the Wienerdog.

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

If You Were Me and Lived In...Israel: A Child's Introduction to Cultures Around the World

32921829

Title: If You Were Me and Lived in Israel
Author: Carole P. Roman
Illustrator: Kelsea Wierenga
Published: Nov. 2, 2016
Publisher: Chelshire Inc.
Pages: 36
Genre:  Children ages 5 on up
Review: paperback provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


Join Carole P. Roman when she visits the exciting land of Israel in the newest book of her informative series. Learn about the varied customs and cultures. Travel to the Middle East to discover what you would eat and do for fun. See the land through the eyes of a youngster like you and understand what life is like in this exciting place. Don't forget to look at the other books in the series so that you can be an armchair world traveler

If You Were Me an Lived in... Cuba: A Child's Introduction to Cultures Around the World by Carole P. Roman

35709418

Title: If You Were Me and Lived in Cuba...
Author: Carole P. Roman
Illustrator: Kelsea Wierenga
Published:June 6, 2017
Publisher: Chelshire Ince.
Pages: 36
Genre: Children ages 5 on up
Review: paperback provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




Join Carole P. Roman when she visits the exciting island of Cuba in the newest book of her informative series. Learn about the varied customs and cultures. Travel to the Caribbean to discover what you would eat and do for fun. See the country through the eyes of a youngster like you and understand what life is like in this exciting place.

Don't forget to look at the other books in the series so that you can be an armchair world traveler.

If You Were Me and Lived In...Germany: A Child's Introduction to Culture Around the World (If You Were Me and Lived) by Carole P. Roman


34140099

Title: If You Were Me and Lived in Germany
Author: Carole P. Roman
Illustrator: Kelsea Wierenga
Published: Feb. 2, 2017
Publisher: Chelshire Inc.
Pages: 36
Genre: Ages 5 on up
Review: paperback provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Join Carole P. Roman when she visits the beautiful land of Germany in the newest book of her informative series. Learn about the varied customs and cultures. Travel to the central Europe to discover what you would eat and do for fun. See the land through the eyes of a youngster like you and understand what life is like in this exciting place. Don't forget to look at the other books in the series so that you can be an armchair world traveler.

Monday, July 24, 2017

If You Were Me and Lived In...Viking Europe (If You Were Me and Lived) by Carole P. Roman

31744807

Title: If You Were Me and Lived in Viking Europe
Author: Carole P. Roman
Illustrator: Mateya Arkova
Pages: 78
Genre: Children ages 6 on up
Published: August. 27, 2016
Publisher: Chelshire Inc.
Review: Paperback provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


Hop in our time travel machine and join Carole P. Roman as she visits a Viking settlement in the year 890 AD. Learn what your name could be and the kind of food you might eat. Read about the different levels of society, how they affect where you would live, and the type of clothing you might wear. Mateya Arkova's beautiful illustrations illustrate what Vikings ate and their children did for fun. If You Were Me and Lived in.. Viking Europe is an exciting trip that shows a colorful culture through the eyes of a child.

If You Were Me and Lived in the Mayan Empire (If You Were Me and Lived) by Carole P. Roman

If You Were Me and Lived in... the Mayan Empire: An Introduction to Civilizations Throughout Time by [Roman, Carole P., Tabor, Paula]

Title: If You Were Me and Lived in the Mayan Empire
Author: Carole P. Roman
Illustrator: Paula Tabor
Published: June 27, 2017
Publisher: Chelshire Inc.
Pages: 66
Genre: Children ages 6 on up
Review: Paperback provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk



Join Carole P. Roman and travel through time to visit the most interesting civilizations throughout history in the first four books of her new series. Learn what kind of food you might eat in Ancient Greece, the clothes you wore in 15th century Renaissance Italy, what your name could be in Viking Europe, and what children who lived during the Han Dynasty did for fun. If You Were Me and Lived in...does for history what her other award-winning series did for culture. So get on-board this time-travel machine and discover the world through the eyes of a young person just like you.

Tuesday, July 11, 2017

NetGalley Review: Jilly's Terrible Temper Tantrums​ Martha Heineman Pieper, Ph.D.​

35301242

Title: Jilly's Terrible Temper Tantrums and How She Outgrew Them
Author: Martha Heineman
Illustrator: Jo Gershman
Publisher: Smart Love Press
Published: March 2, 2017
Pages: 32
Genre: Children ages 3 on up
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 





When Jilly, a happy little kangaroo, has a series of Terrible Temper Tantrums, her parents lovingly help her through them. Children will be very familiar with the frustrations that trigger Jilly's upset feelings, and will applaud her dawning understanding that seeking help and a hug is far superior to the misery of a temper tantrum.

Monday, July 10, 2017

See-More's Big Adventure by June Phyllis Baker

32592605

Title: See-More's Big Adventure
Author: June Phyllis Baker
Published: Oct. 27, 2016
Publisher: Fulton Books Inc.
Genre: Children ages 5 on up
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


See-mores Big Adventure, a childrens picture book is about a young squirrel who is experiencing difficulties both in school and at play because he cannot see clearly. When he learns that he must wear glasses, See-more feels afraid of being laughed at and losing friends.
See-more can be a positive role model for children who may feel stigmatized because of their need to wear eyeglasses. The whimsical adventures of See-more makes eyeglasses not only cool, but the whole world opens up to See-more as he discovers all the things he had been missing!

Giggly Bear's Fun Trip in the Yellow Bus by Kelly Santana-Banks

35415293

Title: Giggly Bear's Fun Trip in the Yellow Bus
Author: Kelly Santana-Banks
Published: June 29, 2017
Publisher: RBTB 
Genre: Children ages 2 on up
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


Did you know that children are safer riding the yellow school bus than in their parent's vehicle?
Climb aboard and hear Giggly Bear and his friends teach kids valuable lessons on how to ride the school bus safely.
Giggly Bear's Fun Trip in the Yellow Bus is the third book in the series Let's Learn while Playing.
Children 2-6 year old will rhyme away to safety while learning new concepts and building vocabulary in this fun yellow ride.

Which is p and Which is q? by Gita V. Reddy

35580807

Title: Which is p and which is q?
Author: Gita V. Reddy
Published: June 30, 2017
Publisher: Unit Books
Pages: 45 (print)
Genre: Children ages 3 on up
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



Grandpa brings a box of wooden letters for Minki to practice her ABCs. He spells out words and Minki picks out the letters from the set. She enjoys doing this except that she isn’t able to tell p and q apart. So when Grandpa spells out p-i-g, she picks q, i, and g. For q-u-e-e-n she picks p,u,e,e,n and for q-u-i-l-t, she takes out the letters p,u,i,l,t.
Because Minki has so much trouble with p and q, she throws them out of the window. This annoys p and q. They stomp away to Word Fairy and announce they are never going back.
With p and q missing, many words become meaningless. Now nobody can say ‘please’ because it has turned into ‘lease.’ The police station and the post office can’t function and the queen must go into hiding!
Which is p and Which is q? is a fun story about an important issue.

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter #1) by J.K. Rowling

3

Title: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
Author: J.K. Rowling
Published: June 26, 1997
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 320
Genre: Children ages 9 on up (depends on reading level)
Review: Hardback
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 




Harry Potter's life is miserable. His parents are dead and he's stuck with his heartless relatives, who force him to live in a tiny closet under the stairs. But his fortune changes when he receives a letter that tells him the truth about himself: he's a wizard. A mysterious visitor rescues him from his relatives and takes him to his new home, Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.
After a lifetime of bottling up his magical powers, Harry finally feels like a normal kid. But even within the Wizarding community, he is special. He is the boy who lived: the only person to have ever survived a killing curse inflicted by the evil Lord Voldemort, who launched a brutal takeover of the Wizarding world, only to vanish after failing to kill Harry.
Though Harry's first year at Hogwarts is the best of his life, not everything is perfect. There is a dangerous secret object hidden within the castle walls, and Harry believes it's his responsibility to prevent it from falling into evil hands. But doing so will bring him into contact with forces more terrifying than he ever could have imagined.
Full of sympathetic characters, wildly imaginative situations, and countless exciting details, the first installment in the series assembles an unforgettable magical world and sets the stage for many high-stakes adventures to come.

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Button Nose The Sad Little Bear by Gina LoBiondo


23348804

Title: Button Nose The Sad Little Bear
Author: Gina LoBiondo
Illustrator: Brittany Wilder
Pages: 54 (print)
Genre: Children ages 3 on up
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



What if toys could actually feel? Would they be happy or sad? Would they be able to love? Button Nose the Sad Little Bear is the story of a much loved little bear and the little girl who will never give up on finding him again.