Monday, September 18, 2017

NetGalley Review:Kuma-Kuma Chan's Travels by Kazue Takahashi

34734696

Title: Kuma-Kuma Chan's Travels
Author: Kazue Takahashi
Publisher: Museyon
Published: Sept. 11, 2017
Pages: 52 
Genre: Children
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 



In the third book in the Kuma-Kuma Chan series, the title character flies off to a south sea isle where he lies in the sun and drifts into a lazy snooze. He climbs to the summit of a mountain and views the sunrise while drinking a cup of hot chocolate. Instead of physically setting out for one place or another, Kuma-Kuma travels freely all over the world - inside his head. Once again, Kuma-Kuma Chan charms as he exemplifies the joy of a simple, peaceful, life. With its spare text and delightful illustrations, this small-format picture book invites readers to explore their own imaginations and create their own travels.

Tuesday, September 5, 2017

NetGalley Review: Stolen Words by Melanie Florence, illustrated by Gabrielle Grimard

34415916Title: Stolen Words
Author: Melanie Florence
Illustrated: Gabrielle Grimard
Published: Sept. 5, 2017
Publisher: Second Story Press
Pages: 24
Genre: Multi-cultural, Ages 4 on up
Review: ebook provided by NetGalley and publisher
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk  


The story of the beautiful relationship between a little girl and her grandfather. When she asks her grandfather how to say something in his language, Cree, he admits that his language was stolen from him when he was a boy. The little girl then sets out to help her grandfather find his language again. This sensitive, beautifully illustrated picture book explores the intergenerational impact of Canada's residential school system, which separated young Indigenous children from their families.

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Celebrate! Mommies and Daddies by Sophia Day


Title: Celebrate! Mommies and Daddies
Author: Sophia Day
Published: June 15, 2017
Publisher: MVP Kids Media
Pages: 32
Review: book provided by author
Genre: Children ages 3 on up
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 


Join our MVP Kids® and their families as mommies and daddies offer loving support throughout the day. Whether heading to daycare, falling off a bike, adding a new sibling or settling into bed, our MVP Kids® help teach that we can remain secure in our parents love. Single moms, dads and two parent families alike will enjoy the sweet expressions of I love you in each of the MVP Kids® heritage languages.

Celebrate! Thanksgiving by Sophia Day


Title: Celebrate! Thanksgiving
Author: Sophia Day
Published: Aug. 1, 2017
Publisher: MVP Kids Media
Pages: 28
Review: book received by author
Genre: Children ages 3 on up
Buy Links: Amazon, Amazon.uk 

Join our MVP Kids® in Celebrate! Thanksgiving as they role play significant characters and events from the historic first Thanksgiving. Then bridge history into a lesson on thankfulness as our MVP Kids® express gratitude for friends, food, family and more as they enjoy the typical sights and experiences of a traditional American Thanksgiving celebration.

Tuesday, August 8, 2017

Celebrate! Going to the Dentist by Sophia Day


Title: Celebrate! Going to the Dentist
Author: Sophia Day
Published: June 15, 2017
Publisher: MVP Kids Media
Pages: 28
Genre: Children ages 3 on up
Buy Link: Amazon


Join our MVP Kids® in Celebrate! Going to the Dentist as they go through the routine of a dentist visit. From start to finish, we will learn about what goes on during a dentist visit in hopes of calming nerves and relieving fears of going to get our teeth cleaned!

Celebrate! Mealtime by Sophia Day


Title: Celebrate! Mealtime
Author: Sophia Day
Published: December 15, 2016
Publisher: MVP Kids Media
Pages: 22
Genre: Children ages 3 on up
Review: book provided by publisher

Join our MVP Kids® in Celebrate! MealTime. We will learn about good mealtime manners, being helpful, eating healthy and other simple lessons for toddlers. Follow the families of several of our MVP Kids® as they go through their day interacting with food and family.

Monday, August 7, 2017

Review: Sleepover Zoo by Brenda Kearns

26178351

Title: Sleepover Zoo
Author: Brenda Kearns
Published: Jan. 27, 2015
Publisher: Self
Genre: Children ages 5 on up
Review: ebook provided by author
Buy Link: Amazon



Toni only wants one thing: To get through 6th grade at her new school without everyone finding out that her family is crazy — and there’s a zoo in their basement. When the most popular girl in school insists that Toni have a sleepover, it looks like Toni’s dream of being normal is about to be smashed.
Toni tries to get her new friend, Meghan, to help — but Meghan’s first visit to Toni’s home ends badly, thanks to a surprise encounter with frozen mice. Then a missing snake and bossy parrot only make things worse. If Toni can’t get out of this sleepover, the whole school will find out her family is not normal.
This wacky tale is packed with fun, feathers and friendship — and a sleepover that no one will ever forget.